Join the AWM Today

Check us out on our new site to register and learn more about us

The 2012 Gracies

For over 35 years, the Alliance for Women in Media Foundation's Gracie Awards® have honored outstanding programming for, by and about women, as well as individuals who have made exemplary contributions to the industry.

Fill out the entry form to Register today for the 2012 Gracies  

Courtesy of Alliance for Women in Media

AWM NYC Photos
Social Media
Join AWM NYC's LinkedIn GroupJoin AWM NYC's LinkedIn Group





Future Media Leader Scholarship

Application deadline: April 16, 2012

Are you a college student majoring in Communications, Broadcasting, Digital Media or Advertising? Do you dream of the opportunity to shadow an industry insider and grow professionally through her mentoring? Could you benefit from a scholarship designed to assist you financially with your education?

If you answered 'yes' to any of the above questions, you may be the Future Media Leader we're looking for! The application period for this year's scholarship is now open. Apply today (see 'How to Apply' below).

2011 Future Media Leader Scholarship recipient, Crystal Overstreet (left) and award presenter, Loretta C. McLaughlin Vignier (right)About the Scholarship
The Future Media Leader Scholarship was established in 2004 to honor the lifetime achievements and contributions of Audrey Tanzer, one of the Alliance for Women in Media's most celebrated, dedicated and respected executives.
The Future Media Leader Scholarship recognizes the academic achievements and merits of a student majoring in communication at New York City Tri-State colleges and universities.

Recipient Award
The recipient of the Future Media Leader Scholarship receives:

  • $2,000 scholarship
  • Participation in our signature Shadowing Program providing unprecedented exposure to all areas of the broadcast and digital industry
  • Mentoring from an industry leader

Applicant Eligibility Requirements
Applicants of the Future Media Leader Scholarship must be: 

  • A current college undergraduate with a minimum of a 3.0 grade point average
  • Majoring in Communications, Broadcasting, Digital Media or Advertising (or related fields)
  • Attending a college or university in the New York Tri-State Area, (New York, New Jersey, Connecticut)

How to Apply
Application available in PDF and Word file formats. Download the application in your preferred format from the links in Step 1 (above right)Ready to apply? Follow the three steps below to apply for this year's scholarship.

Step 1: Download the application form in PDF or Word

Step 2:
Fill out the application's short questionnaire

Step 3
: eMail your completed form along with the required supporting materials (please refer to the application form for a complete list of supporting materials) to

For more information, email Loretta McLaughlin-Vignier.

Transcripts can be mailed to Na’amah Bateman, c/o Focus 360, 42 W. 38th St. Suite 701, New York, NY 10018


Past Recipients
The Alliance for Women in the Media, NYC, is honored to have selected the women listed below as past recipients of the Future Media Leadership Scholarship:
2011 – Crystal Overstreet (pictured left)
2010 – Natasha Pascetta
2007 – Erica Emmich, Montclair State University
2006 – Kathleen  LaCorte, Rider University
2005 – LaToya Patrice Rogers, Mount Saint Vincent        
2004 – Lauren Summa, Hofstra University